The historic station buildings that were restored and rehabilitated on the site, and which have been converted into study buildings, include:

Registration
First Name:
Last Name:
Email:  
Phone:
Interested In
select
Confirm receipt of advertisements
Insert your phone and we shall return to you shortly
 
1800-20-90-20

The historic station buildings that were restored and rehabilitated on the site, and which have been converted into study buildings, include:

The last sketch of the site of the historic Tsemakh Railway Station from 1947:

  • The main station building (two floors) which house the station offices and research institutes. This is a two-story structure from the Ottoman Era, with a tiled roof, which is similar to most of the buildings of the Hejaz railways stations.

      
  • The workers’ house which was converted into two classrooms with unique stained glass windows which display the archeological finds.
    The first floor - was used for offices, including ticket sales. The second (upper) floor - was used as living quarters of the station manager’s family. The building also has a basement level and balcony, form the British era.

     

  • “The refreshment room shed” – – here passengers waited before boarding trains. The shed was rebuilt and was converted into a classroom.


    The shed was restored based on photographs and original plans, and located on the original foundations which were unearthed during construction work on the site. The shed was built by the Ottomans and was probably used as a refreshment room.

  • The silicate structure – which was converted into a seminar room and library in the memory of Uri Dvir.
    The structure housed the station restrooms and was built during the British era, with silicate bricks.
     

  • The water tower (unique oval-shaped structure) – converted into the visitors’ center.
    The water tower was opened in 1905. It was one of the first structures at the station. It is an oval shaped tower, made of hewn basalt stones, on which two interconnected metal water tanks were placed and filled with water from the Sea of Galilee. There was an outlet pipe from the tanks with a sleeve at the end, for filling the steam engines with water.
    This is the only oval-shaped water tower with two water tanks among all the Valley Train stations.
        

  • Goods platform – it was found to be in need of renovation work.
     

  • Goods storage facility – has not been restored yet.